#365yoga Days 48 & 49: Sweet Inspiration, Sweet Rewards

Standard

Just so you know, that’s Grammy Award Winner Derek Trucks up there.  He was at the Roots ‘N Blues ‘N BBQ festival last year.  Yep, it’s kind of a big deal.  C’mon down this year Sept 9-10 for a little blues boogie of your own!

 

I wrote about taking Polly’s class a couple of days ago.  That same afternoon, I taught my All Level (that usually ends up being more like level 2) class.  People were sweating and moving and grooving and working hard.  The best part, however, is that these folks were using Ujjayi breath without even realizing it.  I talk about it every single class.  I lead folks through it at the beginning of every single class.  I walk around in every single class demonstrating it.  EVERY SINGLE CLASS and yet, folks are resistant to using it.  I don’t know why, but they are (the folks who don’t use it are missing out — yep, I’m probably talking to YOU!)  Anyway, it was such a thrill to hear my students start breathing “correctly” and I was instantly transported back to the hours and hours spent in the practice room at White Lotus where the only sound we heard was the sound of Tracey or Ganga’s voice and the sound of 30 sweaty yogi(ini)s breathing the Prana in unison.

It is such a glorious, inspiring sound!

That sound carried me through to my Gentle Yoga class yesterday.  I felt so inspired that I actually took a leap of faith and allowed my 10yo son to practice with us as I taught.  Now, remember, my 1oyo has been doing yoga for 3 or 4 years, but he takes YogaKids yoga (a great program that I love love love, but it’s quite different from the AshGanga method.)  I was wondering if he’d be able to hold through, to be respectful and do the entire practice without disrupting anyone.  I will admit, I had my doubts and actually rescinded my decision to allow him to join the class for a few minutes — and then I saw the hurt in his eyes.  He said, “But Mom, I REALLY wanted to practice with you, to take YOUR class, to be on the mat with you!”  How do you say no to that?  So I cleared it with my students and, having gotten their permission, rolled out a mat for my son.

The most amazing thing happened: my son became just another of my students!  I never thought it would happen.  I always feared I would be distracted, he would be distracting, I would not be able to spread my attention equally, etc.  I was wrong, oh so very wrong.  Before I knew it , I was walking around giving adjustments and suggestions to my students and I suddenly realized I was adjusting my son!  MY SON!  Not just a very short student!

It was the sweetest, most amazing, most awe inspiring, proudest moment I have had as a mother, AND as a teacher, in as long as I can remember.  I was so very close to not letting it happen.  I was so very close to trying to control the situation so much that I missed the greatest gift I could have ever been given.  I’m so grateful that yoga has taught me to let go, to let things unfold and bloom like the thousand-petaled lotus.  I’m so grateful, so grateful, grateful.

It’s been beautiful outside.  I came back from Memphis and Spring had arrived.  Crocus are sprouting up in the yard and we’ve been outside almost every minute we are able.  My kids thrilled me by spontaneously busting out some “Outsideasana!”  I couldn’t help but join them, of course.  

The rewards of this practice are so, so sweet!  They come at unexpected times in unexpected places.  They come in big packages and small packages, old and new packages, and sneak up on you when you least expect them.  Let them happen. Be open to them. Bloom like the Lotus.  I promise, you’ve never tasted anything so sweet!

One response »

Leave a comment