#365yoga Day 175: Learning (or teaching) to Fly

Standard

Yesterday I wrote about Long Hold and how much I love that class.  I must admit that I really love the way my schedule plays out because the next class I teach after Long Hold is Level 3, my class that is packed full of intense flows, arm balances, and inversions.  It’s so much fun to switch from one to another!

I wanted to do something different today.  I kind of had an idea of who might be in class and I know that a few of them are capable of flying (inversions and arm balances) but they don’t have the faith in themselves to really go for it.  I woke up feeling that today was the day, so I planned a class filled with shoulder openers, extensional energy, lightness in the body, and trust building and, eventually, the wall.

The process was very deliberate – I spent time planning how and why to go about things the way that I did – and it paid off! All of my students today managed to do Pincha Mayurasana (feathered peacock,) Sirsasana (headstand), Sirsasana and then lifted the head off the ground, and Adho Mukha Vrksasana (handstand.)  We used the wall, but they all started to pull away from the wall and fly free for a few seconds.  It was so amazing to see!  Since we were all open and what not, I thought we could give Urdhva Dhanurasana (upward facing bow / wheel / full backbend) a try and practice walking up and down the wall.  Super fun!

I love these kinds of classes, not because I get off on seeing people have that sense of “I DID IT!” Seeing people  face and conquer their fears, realize how strong and powerful they really are, realize that lightness has a role in even the most challenging situations (indeed, probably those are the situation in which lightness has the greatest role,) and have fun doing these things that previously scared the daylights out of them – it just doesn’t get too much better!  It’s like throwing the party of the year!

Things I heard:

I feel incredible!

That was so much fun!

WOW – I can do it!

I feel so free!

 

Now, you tell me, wouldn’t that put a smile on your face?  I’m still grinning like a guilty monkey! 😀

I always say that if you want to change the way the world looks to you, you must change the way you look at the world – usually by going upside down.  Today, I think my students saw the world differently, I *know* they saw themselves differently.  That, my darlings, is what yoga is all about!

Give it a shot – spread your wings and fly!

One response »

  1. Are you doing a 356 Day Yoga Challenge? YOWZA! A woman at my studio is into a 45 Day Hot Yoga Challenge and she amazes me…you are my new hero! Take a look at her experiences so far at Riverflow-yoga.com – you two may want to share notes

Leave a Reply

