#365yoga Day 140: Those who cannot teach, do.

Standard

I’m sick.  Not dying sick, not even wish I was dying sick, but sick none the less.  My lungs are inflamed and irritated, I can barely take a breath, I’m coughing, I’m exhausted, and my voice sounds like Harvey Fierstein and Bea Arthur met a hookah bar and said, “yeah, why not?”  It’s not pretty. I actually had to cancel a class this morning because there was just no way I could teach.  You know it’s bad if I cancel class – I can’t think of anything I would rather do less when it comes to running the studio.  That said, I can’t very well teach by grunting and pointing, eh?

You might think that I’m spending the day in bed.  Maybe I should be doing that, but if you know me at all, you know that I’m much more likely to take up voting for the conservative right than to stay in bed all day.  I just can’t do it! Honestly, my plan for the day is to practice my yoga.  I feel that opening the heart and lungs will allow the fluids to release their holds on my respiratory organs and flow out. Virabhadrasnan 1, Ardha Chandrasana, Ustrasana, Uttanasana, Urdhva Dhanurasana, and Adho Mukha Vrksasana are on tap.  I’m hoping to be able to do a lot of it in my steamy bathroom (well, maybe not the handstand) to aid in the expectoration.

I find it fascinating and comforting that, regardless of what ails you, there’s an asana for that.  I might not be able to teach today, but I can practice and I know that I will feel better as result of it. What is in your Asana Store when you’re sick? What makes you feel better? How do you use your practice to heal?

Namaste

Leave a Reply

