#365yoga Day 105: My birthday wish

Standard

Shortly after midnight (12:13 to be exact,) I turned 35. I slept late, awoke to missed calls, 20+ text messages, countless Facebook messages and the Twitter Shout Outs are rolling in.  My husband brought me a hot cup of coffee and a new Manduka Pro Black Sapphire mat. I was so happy I found myself giggling uncontrollably before I even made it up to pee.

I love birthdays!

I am so blessed.  I have a life path I adore, my practice, a family (both of origin and of my choosing) who never fail me, a husband who is my rock, children who teach me more than I could ever teach them, my health, my home, and Hank the Amazing Wonder Dog. I honestly have everything I need.

But I still want something from you for my birthday.  Yep, I want you all to give me gift – the best gift ever.  Are you ready?  Here it is.

I want you to do something today for someone else without expecting anything in return.  I want you to open a door, buy someone lunch, help a child, say hello to someone who looks lonely, give and give some more.  I want you to practice random acts of kindness (and yoga, if it suits you.)  I want you to do something to make someone a little happier, healthier, better off.  I want you to let love rule, to put a little love in your heart, to help your sisters and brothers, to come together now, to dance in the sound of sunshine, to wake up, to give peace a chance.  I want you to LIVE the soundtrack to my life.

And then I want you to comment here on this blog about it.

We can change the world and make it a better place.  When we give from the heart, we get so much more in return.  Please, give me the gift of giving to others which will, in turn, end up giving to yourself.  Tell me about it.  Inspire me and others. Share share share some more.  Let it be your yoga today – I’ll bet you you’ll feel so good about it that it’ll become part of your yoga *every* day.

Thank you for the love you have shown me.  It makes my heart swell and dance and sing.  Go and do that for someone else.  I swear, it’s sweeter than cake.

Namaste

4 responses »

  1. I gave my favorite re-usable shopping bag to my friend today so she didn’t have to take a plastic bag- told her to keep it and use it- Then I came home and read your beautiful birthday wish! So, there you go! xoR

  2. Happy belated birthday! I will happily give you your wish/gift today – I hope you don’t mind that it’s a little late. 😉 Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

