#365yoga Day 94: As if!

Standard

There are a few people in my life who are single and do not wish to be.

There are a few people in my life who are unemployed and do not wish to be.

There are a few people in my life who are worried and do not wish to be.

There are more than a few people in my world who are suffering and do not wish to be.

There are more than a few people in my world who are frightened and do not wish to be.

There are more than a few people in my world who are ill and do not wish to be.

There are people who need love and care and peace and support and nourishment both in the belly and in the heart.  There are people who need humanity and compassion and courage and strength and inspiration and passion and faith.

There are people who need, period.

Someone once told me that an expression of faith is to pray or to meditate “as if the best is already coming to you.”  As if your prayers have already been answered.  As if you’ve already been relieved and freed and soothed.  As if everything is already coming to you, as if the world is full of blessings just for you, as if you already have it all.

I tried it and it changed my life.  Pattabhi Jois said, “Practice and all is coming.”  When I practice (both on and off the mat) as if it is already coming, I feel a bigger a shift, a better change, a deeper opening.  If I behave and believe as if it’s already coming for me, it clears the path for me to be of better service so that I can help others in need, so that I can give more love, time, compassion, empathy, encouragement, whatever to the people of this one world that we all share.

Today, can you give love?  Your time?  Your energy?  Your money?  Your compassion?  Your voice?  Your support?  Can you give it to someone else?  Sure you can, because it’s already coming to you.

Namaste

Give Love.

3 responses »

  1. Once again a beautiful post! I just started an advanced yoga class at my studio and I find it incredibly helpful to attempt the poses (and continue attempting them!) with it in my mind that I am already able to do them- I just haven’t uncovered my ability yet.

    You are right, it would be so helpful if I were to apply the same approach to other avenues! I never thought of it myself!

    Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

