#365yoga Day 82: Back in the Saddle Again

Standard

Heh. I was a whole year old when that video was recorded.  moving on…

I have a confession to make.  I realized yesterday that I didn’t remember the last time I actually took a class.  Seriously, I sat on my deck and thought about it and wondered when it was.  I still don’t know when it was, but it was too long ago.  If it’s been more than a week, it’s too long and it’s been WAY more than a week.  I mean, yeah, I do a home practice and I teach several times a week, but you know as well as I do that it’s not the same.

I sat out on my deck with my husband and vented again about how I was feeling overwhelmed and stressed and spun out and strung out and needing to bust out and at a loss for words.  That patient man hears me say this frequently.  He doesn’t give me answers, but instead waits for me to figure it out.  Not that it’s that difficult – the answer is ALWAYS the same: Go take a yoga class.

This morning I got up, got dressed, made my morning juice, and hit the road to Yoga Sol to attend Polly’s class.  I laid my mat in the middle of the room so I wouldn’t be tempted to leave it and adjust the other students.  I rolled it out, sat down, and began with a beginner’s mind, a student heart, and a full breath.  For an hour, I bent and stretched and reached and breathed and flew.  I brought the yoga to me and I brought myself to the yoga and it was a magical hour of union.  I actually managed to take a Savasana – oh yeah, baby.

I left energized, centered, feeling calm and confident and able to attend to the tasks laid out before me.  I felt alive and happy and eager. I felt the practice enter me deeply and shine out amongst the road ahead.  I slipped so easily, so gratefully, back into the role of student.  It’s just like riding a horse – and I’ll bet I’ll even be a little saddle sore tomorrow as a result. 😉

 

One response »

  1. My husband says the same thing to me, “Go to Yoga!” He notices how I come home refreshed, recharged and happy.

    Reading your description really makes me jealous and wishing I could be a student today.

Leave a Reply

