#365yoga Day 11: R-E-S-P-E-C-T!

Standard

Today Judith Hanson Lasater urges us to practice respect toward our own body.

Wait, what?  WHAT?  You mean respect my BODY?  MY body?  Well, crap.

Dammit, again with the respecting my body business.  I know I know I know.  I SHOULD.  I really should.  After all, my body has been through a lot in its 34 years on this planet and it’s still healthy and strong and ambulatory.  It has grown, birthed, and fed two human beings.  It carries me where I want to go, heals its own cuts and bruises, digests food, keeps me warm, and allows me to drape it in absurd outfits without complaint.  Sounds good on paper, doesn’t it?  Yeah.  That’s often times where it stays, too.

Here’s the deal – I am beyond grateful for my health and my strength.  I am grateful and aware that I am able bodied, relatively healthy, in fairly good shape.  I get that and I’m not thumbing my nose at it at all, but … I am human.  Gravity has become extra fond of this able body in the last few years. I have an organ in my body that hasn’t worked ideally for probably 15 years and, although it did serve it’s amazing intended purpose twice, it causes me a lot of problems.  There are some days when I think this body excitedly rocks the Casbah, but there are many more days when I think this body is as exciting as a pet rock.

Judith says, “treat your body with the respect you would give my body.”

Oh snap!

I would never ever say the things about your body that I say about mine.  I would never ever allow you to say them about yourself, either.  I would tell you to love your body, that it is amazing, a miracle, beautiful, perfect exactly the way it is and, get this, I would actually mean it! It cannot be true for you without also being true for me.  It absolutely positively without a doubt is true for you, so…..

Yes,  Okay.  I get it.  I understand.  I respect that.  Time to change my stinkin’ thinkin’ eh?

I tell you what, I will if you will.  Deal?

R-E-S-P-E-C-T!  What’s true for you is true for me.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

