#365yoga day 6 – Om Namah Shivaya, Yogadorks!

Standard

Om Namah Shivaya means a LOT to me.  I have written about it before and it’s actually the most popular post on this blog (probably because of the tattoo.)  This whole idea of becoming and evolving is my passion, my muse .  Really, it’s what the #365yoga project is all about.  We’re on a journey, a never ending path.  There are twists and turns and bumps in the road.  Sometimes we back track, sometimes we leap ahead, and sometimes we get stuck in the mud.  Ain’t it grand?

I taught Gentle Yoga this morning.  It has been several months since we had Thursday Morning Gentle Yoga and it was lovely to get back to it.  Right as I was getting ready to start, I saw a lovely energy pass the window.  I couldn’t be absolutely sure, but I thought it had red braids.  My heart kind of leapt to my throat – could it be?  The door opened and in walked a dear friend I haven’t seen in around 3 years!  I had no idea she was in town, certainly no idea she would show up for my class.  It was a beautiful reunion!  I met her in my former incarnation as a doula and I helped her bring her daughter into the world and now she was on a mat right in front of me.  It was a lovely class.   The energy seemed to sway and move and grow.  Breath moved folks through asanas and flows.  Following class, I started to think about my journey. My friend was in the front row and Polly was in the back row.  There was a time when either of those things would have freaked me out beyond reason.  Today, however, it felt like being joined by extra love.  It seems I have become a yoga teacher.  Om Namah Shivaya!

I have a 10 year old son.  If you’ve ever had a 10 year old son, you can skip this part because you will have already covered it in therapy.  If not, blessyourheart.  10 year old boys are a joy, but they are mind blowingly difficult.  I am responsible for my son’s education (well, HE is responsible for his education, I am responsible for providing educational opporunity.)  Lately he has been about as motivated as a slug.  When it’s time to do something, he grits his teeth, rolls his eyes, and stares at me like a deer in headlights.  He does the very minimum amount of work possible.  He would rather stare at the wall – the wall I am banging my head against, usually.  If I ride his tail, however, he gets lovely work done.  It’s incredible what this kid can do when he wants to do it, which is about as often as I vote republican (read: never ever ever.)  You can imagine the struggle.  Eventually today he was looking at me like I was from another planet and was resenting that I’m hard on him.

I pointed to my arm.  “Son, what does that say?”

“Om Namah Shivaya.”

“Right.  Now, son, what does it mean?”

“Honor and praise to all that I am capable of becoming.”

“Exactly.  Is a slug all that you are capable of becoming?”

“No way!  I’m brilliant!  I’m a gem!  I’m A DIAMOND, BABY!”  (I swear, this kid!!!)

“Alright then, what turns a lump of coal into a diamond?”

“Heat and pressure.”

“Thaaaaaaat’s right, son.  Heat and Pressure.  So.  When you think I’m riding your butt as though it has a saddle on it, just remember – your mama is heat and pressure turning you into a shining diamond.  Get to work.”

He’s currently been working on a story with illustrations now for 2 hours.  He’s becoming something awesome.  Om Namah Shivaya!

We are becoming.  We are on a journey.  We are walking together, side by side. We are in it together: one love, one heart, one people, one world.  Each day is different. Some are easy.  Some are incredibly difficult. There is joy and light and love, but there is also heat and pressure and pain.  We are becoming.  SHINE ON!

Namaste

Leave a Reply

