A life less complicated: 2011 made simple

Standard

I woke up this morning and found my kids layering strand after strand of beads and bobbles around their necks and shoving rings on each finger with wild abandon.  My sons LOVE costume jewelry.  I’m not sure why and I don’t care.  They love it, it makes them incredibly happy, and they feel awesome. It’s a very simple thing.

Wrapped in my new chenille robe (thank you, honey,) I made my way into the kitchen for a cup of plain black coffee and a breakfast of multigrain bread with butter.  Nothing fancy, nothing gourmet or special, but oh so good.  Simple, easy, perfect.

 

You know I love Hank. I think he’s amazing. I learn a lot from him. All it takes to make him happy is a pat on the head, a scratch behind the ear, and a tennis ball.  Simple.

 

It seems to me that simple things really are the best.  There’s nothing to argue with.  Nothing complicated.  Nothing to gunk up the cogs and gears of enjoyment, contentment – santosha.  We complicate things much more than we need to.  When we add too much or worry too much or DO too much, things get a little (or a lot) crazy.  We are human beings not human doings. There is a very simple, very famous prayer which has been been around for a long time and helped millions of people make their lives better:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Simple.  Perfect.

What if we just let things be?  What if we adopted a “wait and see” attitude?  What if we let the Universe take control of things and we just go along?  What if we simplified ourselves and our lives?  What would that look like?  Maybe a little something like this:

If it feels good and hurts no one (including yourself,) do it.

If you don’t want to do something and it’s not going to hurt anyone (including yourself) by not doing it, don’t do it.

If you’re tired, sleep.

If you’re hungry, eat.

If you need love, give love.

If you need forgiveness, forgive.

If you want something, get it and also give it to someone else.

If you’re sad, cry.

If you’re happy, smile.

If you’re scared, hold someone’s hand.

If someone is scared, hold their hand.

If you can, do.

If you cannot, don’t.

If you cannot, but want to, ask for help and learn.

If you’ve learned, teach.

Share.

Say “please” often and “Thank you” twice as much.

Breathe.

Move.

Wait.

Love.  Love.  Love.

 

Welcome 2011!  I know it’s going to be an amazing year – it’s simple!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

