Yoga body, business mind

Standard

I’m an outspoken person.  I put stuff out in the universe without always thinking about it.  It’s how I have always been and, honestly, it’s always worked for me.  I don’t much care what folks think or say, or if I do, I don’t let on.  I’m a “What you see is what you get” kind of gal, a love me or lose me woman, a tattoo having, biker boot wearing, whiskey drinking, dirty joke telling, deeply meditating, soul searching, spirit having, yoga loving, mat burning, Sarah The Great, Queen of All Things.  I like me like that.

There comes a time when things have to change a bit.  I don’t plan on changing ME at all (nor am I barring the door from change that comes organically with time, knowledge, and experience,) but I have to change what I put out there in words on certain occasions.  I have a bigger picture to consider: a new business that is just starting to take off.  I cannot risk isolating anyone with my words.  I cannot take a chance that something I write or publish will put people off or make them cast judgement without experience.  If you know where I live, you know this is a huge risk.

I’m not sure how this is going to work for me. I hate hate hate censorship, but I also hate the idea that my words might harm anyone or any situation.  I cannot expect everyone (anyone?) to accept that my words always come from a place of love and peace and universal acceptance when they are accompanied by a soundtrack of sledgehammers, punk music, and a shot of Patron.  While all of those things are wonderful, they send a message that is not all encompassing.  That message can be damaging.

As a result of that, I will NOT be changing who I am, but perhaps the content of this blog.  I don’t think I’ll be posting playlists in the future because, let’s face it, no matter how many times I say, ” YOU CANNOT TELL IT’S BEASTIE BOYS,” there are folks who are going to automatically think, “I am NOT going to be listening to Fight For Your Right to Party while doing downdog” and, as a result, won’t come to Yoga Sol.  I will continue to do Daily Affirmations and will tell the truth about my experience, but here’s the deal – I’m not just a yogini on her soapbox mat anymore.  I’m a teacher, a representative of Yoga Sol, and a part of a business, and it’s time my published words reflect as much.

If you wanna find out what tunes I’m playing (and believe me, they are killer,) you’ll just have to bring your mat to Yoga Sol and find out for yourself.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

