The 11 Year Old Guru

I was driving my kids down the highway yesterday.  While I don’t tell my kids everything that is going on with me at all times, they’re pretty intuitive short people.  They often know something is going on and, over the years of their short lives, have gotten pretty good at figuring out if my issues are animal, vegetable, or mineral.  They are smart!  That said, nothing could have prepared me for what came out of my 11 year old’s mouth.

Mom, I don’t know what exactly is going on with you, but I know one thing: You ALWAYS have options.  Choose the option that makes you happy!

And there you have it, folks.  It REALLY can be that simple.  We always have options.  Now, I have heard folks say, “No, if someone puts a gun to your head, you don’t have a choice!”  That’s not true at all!  You DO still have a choice.  You can choose to do what they want, or choose not to and maybe die, but you have a choice.  Put in that perspective, none of our other issues are that dire!  It is always possible to choose something that makes you happy.  Or happier.  Or least unhappy.

Since when did it become wrong to use “happiness” as a factor in making decisions?  Never, that’s when.  We just got old and tired and forgot.  Let’s vow to remember.  Let’s vow to choose what makes us happy!

I spent yesterday afternoon making some changes.  I changed my teaching schedule (see the new page up top) and I changed the way I am looking at some other aspects of my life in preparation for changing them, too.  I am making more time for ME.  I am making more time to make myself happy.  I am making more time to listen to my heart, listen to my head, listen to my intuition.  And I’m probably going to be listening more to my 11 year old guru, too.  And guess what?  I’m not worried.  I’m pretty happy!

What makes YOU happy?

11yo Guru being happy listening to his favorite artist (Shooter Jennings) and displaying the autograph that also makes him happy! NO One Direction for this kid!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. memyselfandkids
    May 07, 2012 @ 18:43:29

    Pretty wise comment for an adult – let alone a child.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    May 07, 2012 @ 19:50:54

    Nothing to do with his very wise words–but oh, my, he looks just like you!!!

    Reply

  3. Evangelia
    May 08, 2012 @ 00:27:28

    What makes ME happy is reading reminders like this at the start of my day!!! Thank you and your little guru!! Happiness can only be that simple!

    Reply

  4. Anna Guest-Jelley
    May 08, 2012 @ 16:16:54

    Pretty sure that I should print this out and put it on my mirror for a daily reminder. Thank goodness for in-house gurus! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

