Merciful Release: A #yoga #playlist

I woke up the other day singing Marvin Gaye’s “Mercy Mercy Me.”  There are worse things, for certain, but I couldn’t get it out of my head. I tried all my regular tricks: I sang the whole thing beginning to end, I listened to it, I wrote it out, I tried other songs… nothing.  Still stuck in my head.  There had to have been a reason.

It occurred to me that maybe I needed a little mercy myself and, maybe, I needed to teach it.  It is said that we teach that which we most need to learn.  I believe it.  It is really hard for me to settle down, to slow my roll and have mercy upon myself.  It’s difficult for me to allow myself to find rest and ease and comfort.  It’s often difficult to find the rhythm and the soul of my days because I’m so busy trying to rock them out.

Enter yoga.  Enter this playlist.

Be merciful with yourself and let it all go.

Namaste

Change is Gonna Come – Gavin DeGraw

These Arms of Mine – Otis Redding

Wake Up Everybody – Harold Melvin

Mercy Mercy Me – Marvin Gaye

Superwoman – Alicia Keyes

Let’s Stay Together – Al Green

Lovesong- Adele

Bridge Over Troubled Water – Aretha Franklin

Golden – Jill Scott

Peace Train – Cat Stevens

(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay – Otis Redding

Ain’t No Sunshine – Bill Withers

Running From Mercy – Rickie Lee Jones

The Shape of Us – Ian Britt

I Shall Be Released – Jack Johnson

Human After All – Sierra Noble

Leave a Reply

