#365yoga Day 2

 

What is it they say about Best Laid Plans?  Yeah.

I had big ol’ plans for my yoga today.  I was going to dive into my home practice and rock it out.  I had planned to work on Pincha Mayurasana and some variations of Rajakapotasna.  I was going to take a really long Savasana and use this singing bowl song to take myself to another plain.  I was going to work on a flow from Baddha Utthita Parsvakonasana to  Baddha Urdhva Prasarita Eka Padasana to Dandayamana Janushirsansana.  I had plans.  Big plans.

My refrigerator shat on my plans.  Bugger decided to shoot craps and I ended up spending hours tearing it apart, thawing, probing, cleaning, reassembling, and generally hating my fridge.  But it works now and I’m too damn tired and sore to hit the mat.

In a stroke of loving genius (or self preservation, whatever,) my husband looked at me and said, “How about I get pizza for dinner tonight?”  Damn, I love that man.

I took a deep breath and looked at the clock.  4:00 on a Sunday afternoon.  I grabbed the bottle of 14 Hands Chardonnay that had been sitting on that stupid fridge and opened it up, grabbed a shorty glass, and poured myself a little vino.  While I couldn’t handle the mat, I knew I could take a step on another yoga journey I’m on. I grabbed my mala for 108 rounds of Om Gam Ganapataye Namaha and lit 3 candles that a friend had given me in votives saying, “Dream,” “Hope,” and “Love.”

Sitting on my bed, I breathed.  I followed the suggestions from today’s reading and rested for 10 minutes.  I was aware of my feelings and felt relaxation rise up in me. My fridge was fixed.  I hadn’t shouted or lost my cool.  I still had my connection to Ganesh and to my yoga and to myself.  I found beauty in candlelight shining through white wine.  I found the shadows on the OM dancing.  I was surrounded by love and hope and dreams.  I was breathing.  I was being.

I was living my yoga – and yoga follows no plan.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

